top of page

Dr. Caroline

Updated: Mar 13, 2023

This week's #MeetTISB features Dr. Caroline - Principal of TISB.

Dr. Caroline grew up in a village in rural Devon, in the SW of England and had an active, outdoor and very happy childhood. Her parents were hardworking, very down to earth and brought up her two sisters and her in a non-extravagant way and encouraged them to be independent and to make the most of life. Dr. Caroline went to an academically selective Grammar school, " I loved the sense of community, the friendships and the sense of achievement. I played every sport I could and eventually became Head Girl."


As we celebrate International Women's Day 2023, There was no doubt about who we will feature this week. Dr. Caroline - an inspiring leader, a wonderful teacher/colleague & an exemplary role model who also led the TISB community through a difficult time during the pandemic. We asked her about her move to India & TISB;


"I was initially attracted to TISB because it was in India – a country that is varied & vibrant. I like the attitude and ‘can-do’ mindset that Indians have. For me attitude is a main determinant of success in all spheres, far more influential than a raw score for intelligence. Attitude is how students approach every day, every task, how they persevere, how they respond when something is tough, how they attribute success and failure, and how they contribute to our community. Within a day at TISB, it is possible to witness such positive, ambitious and humble approach from all students of all ages and it is this that makes the TISB students aim high, and their attitude that sets the foundations for all they will go on to achieve when they leave TISB. I want TISB students to know that their success is within their control and it’s how they approach all that they do that makes the difference."


What was the biggest challenge you faced as a female leader in the education industry and how did you overcome them?

The challenges I currently face is not because I am a female but because of the complexity of the role; to be honest I have not faced any negative issues or constraints because I am a woman. The limitations I have encountered have come from the common female trait of my imagined ‘imposter syndrome’ when my self-esteem doesn’t allow me to feel good enough or worthy of a position or role. Self-doubt has followed me throughout my life, but I have used travel, sport, adventure and expeditions as a way of regaining control of my self-esteem and confidence; confidence to be who I am and not what others want me to be.


What do you consider to be the challenges of modern education?

An important aim of modern education is to encourage students to become ‘global citizens,’ ready to ‘play their part in the world and to make a real difference’. Having a global outlook is, I believe, one of the most important things we can encourage in our young people. Our world is so connected, and I want them to have the confidence and humility to be able to work with anyone from anywhere around the world. Part of the IB philosophy is to develop inquiring, knowledgeable and caring young people who will collaborate to make a better and more peaceful world through intercultural understanding and respect.

I think as AI begins to dominate education, machines will have the knowledge so as educators we need to change the emphasis to:

  • What knowledge is true and relevant?

  • How can we use this knowledge for ethical problem solving?

  • How can we make sense and links with the world around us?

Most of all, how can we be ‘human’ towards each other?

What inspired you to become a teacher?

My childhood dream was to be a Policewoman as I wanted to help, to have a non-office-based job, to experience action, to do something worthwhile in society and in some ways to be in control. After graduating from University, I went to London to pursue rowing and I was accepted into the Metropolitan Police Force. However, I deterred a year because I could not be a Police cadet and row at the same time; so to make use of the year, I stumbled into a teaching degree. Teaching in London was very similar to being a Policewoman and I enjoyed the long holidays and the fact that every day was different – I have not looked back!


Quick Q&A


Favorite thing about India?

The diversity and unpredictability


Favorite school lunch?

Rajma, but then I like all food that has been cooked by someone else as cooking is not my strongest skill


Tell us an interesting/quirky fact about you

I do not like the taste, smell or sight of tomato ketchup – it is banned from my kitchen!


What will the storybook of your school life be titled?

No regrets


What was your first job?

At the age of 11, plucking turkeys before Christmas at a local farm – the hardest, most underpaid job in the world!


What is your favorite hobby or activity to do outside of school, and why?

Any sport, walking, cycling, travelling knitting, crocheting and cross stitch.


Finally, what is one piece of advice you would give to your students as they prepare to graduate and move on to the next chapter of their lives?

I hope my epitaph would read something like – ‘She loved life’; life is so short and you only get one chance at it so my advice would be to just get on and enjoy it, make the most of it and keep smiling. The rest I will put in my speech at Graduation!


Thank you Dr. Caroline!



263 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page