top of page

Mr. Santanu Paul

Updated: Sep 24, 2022


This week’s #MeetTISB features TISB’s DP Academics & Head of TOK, our beloved Mr. Santanu. He has a love for learning, an openness to exploring cultural experiences and a passion for travel and gives credit to all that he is today to his Kolkata & Bengali DNA!

Mr. Santanu comes from a family of teachers. Sciences, Mathematics, Philosophy, Politics, Economics, English Literature, you name it and he has studied them all at some point in his life. “My first school in Darjeeling sowed the seeds of discipline and quiet reflection besides an abiding love of the mountains while my subsequent schools, college and Universities opened the doors for intellectual growth and experiments”.

“A brief count actually tells me five schools and five different curricula, by far the most rewarding being the IBDP.”

Intimately connected to travel, is his passion for photography, “there is so much to see in India that my only regret is the hiatus we as a family had to take at certain times in life.”

Mr. Santanu has been with TISB for the last 13 years, we asked him about his journey and experiences.

"In our daily engagement with students while we get to know them a little better we get to know ourselves even more - our little quirks, follies and foibles. One remains perpetually curious; we are not afraid to dream and try to see the best in everybody. We learn to appreciate the little things and realise that it's okay to show our feelings.. The older I grow, the more I read and experience, the more I travel the more I realise how little I know and how much remains. I have learnt to be grateful - have you noticed how often our students say 'thank you' - and would like to practice the fine art of communication.”


Quick Q&A with Mr. Santanu (Be ready to be surprised !)


  • What’s the best thing about being a teacher?

I am most alive and, in the moment, when I am in a class with students

  • What’s your favorite school lunch?

The Bong in me craves all the desserts!

  • Tell us an interesting/quirky fact about you interesting/quirky fact about you

I started shaving my head after a challenge from IBDP Literature class of 2013 who called themselves SP's litter

  • What will the storybook of your school life be titled?

"The Best Is Yet To Be"

  • Write the new school rule you always wanted

Polished shoes and ironed uniforms

  • Which is your favorite spot on campus

The flagpole in front of the BIH where I can watch the full moon rising on a cloudless night

  • What one piece of advice would you give to your students?

Intellectual humility and an appreciation of epistemic diversity

  • How do you think your students will remember you?

I am a part of all that I have met; Yet all experience is an arch wherethro' Gleams that untravell'd world whose margin fades

For ever and forever when I move

- Ulysses - Tennyson

Thank you Mr. Santanu.


272 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page