top of page

Ms. Amba

This week’s #MeetTISB features TISB’s PY Pastoral Coordinator, Ms. Amba.

Ms. Amba started her schooling in a small town called Thika in Kenya. This was a memorable and foundational experience in her early childhood.

She went on to complete her Bachelor in Commerce and Post Graduation in Business Administration in South India. She then joined the Corporate sector and had stints in Sales and Finance before deciding to change course. Joining the teaching industry was an experiment that she believes is slowly turning into a passion.


My happiest moments are in the classroom teaching and learning from children.

“I am now in my fifth year at TISB but every year feels like the very first year with new adventures and

challenges. Looking at education through different lenses- from that of a class teacher to a subject leader to a pastoral coordinator has helped me understand children immensely and the learning continues…. Working in an organization with colleagues and leaders that don’t stop me from questioning how and why things work the way they do has helped me grow in this journey. Children on the other hand have taught me that the most important aspects of teaching are simplicity and relationship-building. If concepts can be simplified and children trust you, nothing can stop one from becoming a better teacher.”



Quick Q&A

  • What’s your favorite school lunch?

The Friday Surprise Lunch


  • What was your first job?

A sales executive making cold calls and selling equity portfolios


  • What is the funniest question or doubt a student has asked you?

This exchange happened in one of the lower grade classes ( 6 year olds) when I was teaching about different food groups.

Teacher: Why do you need to eat food ?

Child: To grow big

Teacher: I am already big, so I don’t need to eat food ?

Child: You need to grow bigger 😊

  • Tell us an interesting/quirky fact about you

I ended up going to four driving schools before getting my driving license and getting the courage to drive on Bangalore roads.


Thank you Ms. Amba

119 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page