top of page

School Captains AY 2023-24

This week's #MeetTISB features our new school captains for the next AY.

Congratulations Nipun & Liyah! We can't wait see what you achieve this year.


Hi everyone, I'm Liyah. Growing up in Bangalore, TISB has been my home. Outside of school, I'm always on the move – whether it's sprinting on the track or playing field hockey with my classmates. When I'm not being active, you can usually find me playing the piano or researching the latest breakthroughs in the field of cardiology. I'm incredibly passionate about the intersection between technology and medicine, and I hope to explore this further in the future.


I have been in TISB since pre-KG. From stumbling onto the field hockey team (thanks to a friend that randomly signed me up for it) to discovering my love for genomics through a science fair project on extracting DNA from strawberries, TISB has been the backdrop for so many of my personal milestones. Each Graduation, multicultural event, and sports day has left an indelible mark on my journey. Looking back, it's incredible to see how much I've grown and changed thanks to this school.


TISB's community is unparalleled. When you step onto campus, you feel the perfect blend of competition and collaboration that is unique to our student body. Everyone strives to excel in their studies, while supporting and uplifting each other every step of the way. Our teachers are exceptional and truly care about their student’s success and well-being. They're always there to provide additional support, guidance, and constructive conversations. Together, TISB's community create an extraordinary educational experience.


As school captain, I am committed to creating a nurturing environment that fosters holistic growth and development for every student at TISB. To achieve this, I plan to develop diverse initiatives that cater to the varying needs and interests of every student, ensuring that everyone feels included and supported in their journey towards achieving their dreams. I also want to improve the health and safety in school through advocating for CPR training to be made a mandatory requirement for graduation, which would make TISB the first school in India to do so. I believe this initiative would have a lasting impact on our student body, equipping them with a vital life skill they can carry with them beyond their time at TISB.


Quick Q&A


What’s your favorite school lunch?

Rajma chawal, rice, and brownies but the most memorable lunch every year is the children’s day special!


Tell us an interesting/quirky fact about you!

I have two pets: a cat named Blu and a turtle named Florida.


Write the new school rule/tradition you always wanted.

Specialized sports lessons for IB students, I think most of us can attest to missing our PE department and weekly classes with them.

 

Hi, my name is Nipun, and I was born and brought up in Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh. I’ve been at TISB as a boarder since grade 8 and this will be my 5th year in school. TISB has been an unparalleled sanctuary to me since day one, and I have been fortunate to experience some indescribably enjoyable moments (Vivum, ethnic days, chilling at fairy garden etc.) here. The school has bestowed upon me everything I am today, including my passion for sports, my leadership skills, and most importantly my strongly knit relationships with my friends, peers and teachers. I am a cricket enthusiast and when not in class, you can catch me watching or playing the sport. Travelling and exploring new places all around the world is a stress breaker for me and I am actively engaged in the realms of economics and entrepreneurship, as these are fields I aspire to pursue after I graduate.


TISB is a magical place that propels you to exceed expectations and reveal the best version of yourself. It cultivates bold individuals with captivating personalities, and as the School Captain for the approaching academic year, it is my objective to ensure that every single Trojan's voice is heard, while providing opportunities to build a strong and empathetic student community within the school. I envision creating an environment where all students feel confident, motivated, and have someone who believes in them throughout their schooling.


Let’s all have a blast and make the most of this year, especially with events like VIVUM coming up soon. Please feel free to reach out to me in case you need any help as I am more than happy to lend a hand of support all my fellow trojans.

Quick Q&A


What’s your favourite school lunch?

Rajma chawal and jelly for dessert

Which silly subject would you introduce to schools? Why?

Supervised sleep lessons for all IB kids to recover from sleep deprivation.

Write the new school rule/tradition you always wanted.

No wake-up time for boarders / free lessons for all grades during VIVUM

 


342 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page