top of page

Spiti Valley Memories



After finishing nearly two months of board exams, a chance to travel was really welcome for my friends and I, especially because we hadn’t been able to since 2020. So less than 24 hours after my last exam, I was at the airport with 30 others ready to leave for the school Spiti Valley Expedition.


The first week of the trip consisting of our acclimatization treks and fun activities like ziplining and a cultural evening saw the whole group become closer to one another, mixing despite belonging to different grades and friend groups. By the time we began our full treks in Spiti and began camping, the entire group already felt like family. Sharing a tent with people I had met only at the start of the trip felt natural.


We also had the opportunity to do a tree planting activity during our acclimatization period. Being exposed to the delicate climate in the Himalayas was one thing but being able to actively participate in a reforestation program was such a great chance for us to build appreciation for the ways in which the whole ecosystem functions despite the harsh conditions.


The trip saw distinct friend groups merge, new friendships develop, and a huge amount of respect grow between us. The effect of lack of interactions for two years caused by covid was practically undone in three weeks, with all of us becoming far more comfortable together.


From washing our clothes in the freezing river water to sipping on hot chai every morning to warm up, the trip exposed us to extremes in our physical surroundings- negative temperatures every night and blazing sun during the day- and pushed our physical boundaries with the daily treks. But the whole experience made summer 2022 undoubtedly my best so far.

- Mahima Sharma




Our Spiti Valley expedition began on the 10th of June 2022, less than a day after my final IGCSE board exams. Although initially disheartened by the fact that I have to say goodbye to friends and family so soon, starting my summer with a trip like no other, was exhilarating for me. I experienced mixed emotions of nervousness, enthusiasm, and fear all at once as none of us knew what to expect and what the outcomes would be from this eighteen-day journey through the Himalayas.


The first week in Manali, in the Burua village, was an experience like no other. The relationships that grew during our acclimatisation program were so special. Whether it was the humorous yet insightful conversations with Mr. and Mrs. Pascoe, the interactions with Mr. Koyaluram (the owner of the school we stayed at), or even playing card games and dancing around with my juniors and seniors, each and every moment spent in Manali is worth remembering. To further strengthen bonds with one another, the reforestation program was more than just a rewarding one. We got to learn from the locals and collaborate with one another to give back to society. This was done through the collecting of litter in thorny bushes, planting plants in dug up holes, or cooking with the trekking crew under a single tent with limited resources.

Right when we, as a group, thought the trip could not get more eventful, our ten-day journey through the Spiti Valley began where lifelong memories were created.


This was one of the most enthralling journeys I have ever had the opportunity to embark on and I would not change it for the world despite the physical and mental challenges that arose because of it. 2022 June was recorded to be the coldest Spiti had ever been with freezing nights and sunnier days. With more than half the group falling sick due to dehydration and altitude sickness, we had no choice but to take care of one another and be each other's pillars until the very last day. This included throwing lip balms and sunscreens across the mesh tent for those who needed it, star watching with our sleeping bags before going to bed, or even telling scary stories at night to keep each other entertained without any gadgets or communication with anyone back home.


All in all, Spiti Valley not only tested my physical capabilities but my ability to grow, learn, and appreciate the smaller things in life. And for that, I will forever be grateful.

- Riya Pallamreddy



I vividly remember the night before the Spiti Valley expedition, the sensation of completing my board exams and the idea of going on an expedition with my friends the following morning had me exhilarated. Although the idea of 20 days In the Himalayas, trekking and camping without the luxuries of the city life was daunting, I knew this was a once in a lifetime opportunity to push myself out of my comfort zone and make new memories.


The highlight of the expedition was without a doubt the week spent in Manali, we began every day with a hot cup of chai and engaging conversations with Mr. And Mrs. Pascoe and my fellow students, then we would begin our trek to the tree plantation site, despite taking the same route every day, I found it impossible to get enough of the mesmerising landscape around me. However, in my opinion the digging may have been the activity I looked forward to the most, this may seem shocking but the sense of accomplishment after removing a large rock from the hole or planting a sapling was unmatched.


Only after completing the 10-day journey through spite did I realise what true accomplishment actually felt like. It was nothing short of eventful and it would be impossible to summarise everything into one paragraph, but one thing I can say is that despite the several mental and physical challenges, I have no regrets. The altitude and the dehydration left many of us vulnerable and for many this brought about a caring nature. If it was not for the support I got from my fellow students and staff, it is safe to say I would not have been able complete that journey alone. They became my family for the 20 days I spent on the expedition, and I would do anything to experience that again.

- Anika Dhuler




127 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Harmony's Ode: Echoes of Nature's Plea 

Poem by Saisha Sharma (Grade 9 student) Harmony's Ode: Echoes of Nature's Plea In whispering woods where trees entwine, They sway and sing in rhythms fine, Each leaf a note in nature's shrine. Rivers

bottom of page