top of page

H2P2 (Happy Hands Pots & Pans)

Over the summer Alekhya of G9, reached out to her family & friends asking them to donate their worn-out non-stick pots and pans. Her goals?


  1. Recycling worn out pots and pans

  2. Training underprivileged children/ adults on simplified ways to paint pots and pans and convert them into home decor items, thus helping them get some holistic education

  3. Finally giving the net proceeds from the sale of these beautiful home-decor items to the NGOs taking care of these underprivileged kids/ adults

This is how H2P2 (Happy Hands Pots & Pans) came to fruition

Alekhya also reached out to multiple NGOs to partner with me in this initiative.

I am happy to say that a few of them have come forward. Simultaneously I had also started working on a simplified process to paint and beautify pots and pans.” says Alekhya

On July 23rd, I went to Gubbachi Learning Community and trained 18 kids to paint these pots and pans and as a result 18 beautiful home decor items were created. I have finished and polished the items to make them more attractive and durable and now the first 14 are ready for sale. While I will continue to work with other NGOs, I have posted the first set of 14 pans on my Faceook page for H2P2 earlier this morning, before heading to school. Happy to say that within half a day, half of the items got sold.


We asked her why she decided to start H2P2

"We, the students of TISB, are privileged to have parents who love us and who can take care of all our needs and more. There are many people in this world who are not so. Growing up, during my summer vacation, I would go to some Orphanages or NGOs, sometimes to meet underprivileged kids and sometimes to help them learn. When I was in grade 8th, I felt that these kids, even if they are lucky enough to get education through some NGOs, they do not get a chance to get holistic education. That's when I came up with this idea of collecting old worn-out pots and pans and teaching the kids to paint them and turn them into beautiful home decor items. It remained an idea for more than 2 years due to Covid and then this Summer I started H2P2, where I collect these non-stick pans; teach underprivileged kids and adults an easy way to paint them; and then sell the beautiful products. The net-proceeds from the initiative go to the NGOs who partner with me in any such drive. The finished pans look so lovely!"


According to her this summer was probably the most fulfilling summer that she have ever had. “I have seen and heard many painful stories of kids and adults and I have realized how fortunate we are. The very little that I have managed to do through H2P2, has given me immense joy. I know I will not be able to do a lot for a lot of people, but whatever little I could do has been so fulfilling. The happiness in the faces of the kids after completing their pans was a prize in itself. I know a lot of my friends and peers are already doing their bit. I would request all of you to come forward and do a little bit.

For H2P2, I would seek your help and support in a few areas:

  • I would reach out to you to donate old worn out non-stick pans in your kitchens

  • Would be great if you can connect me with NGOs who would like to partner with H2P2

  • If you like any of these beautiful pieces of work, it would be great if you can buy some


Check out H2P2 social media handles and show her your support!

Instagram: project_h2p2







51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page